Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council

The Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council (WLC) provides a statewide forum for youth and adult volunteer leaders to discuss ideas and provide input to enhance UW-Madison Extension 4-H Youth Development programs at the state, county, and local levels. WLC members:

  • Serve as leaders and role models for 4-H youth and adults
  • Advocate for Wisconsin 4-H
  • Provide input for enhancing the 4-H program
  • Provide educational opportunities to 4-H members and leaders
  • Connect the county, regional, and state levels of Wisconsin 4-H, as well as the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation

Elected at the annual Fall Forum, the WLC helps to plan multiple statewide programs and provides leadership in those settings.

Requirements and Cost of Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Members


Attend and participate in Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Meetings:
Virtual Orientation: December 2023; Winter Retreat: January 26-28, 2024; Spring Planning Meeting: April 2024; 2023 Fall Forum: November 3-5, 2023; and additional planning meetings.

Contribute to statewide events, including but not limited to Pathways Conference – June 2024, Governor’s Blue Ribbon Meat Products Auction at the Wisconsin State Fair – August 2024, Fall Forum, and Wisconsin 4-H Foundation Fundraisers.

Fulfill committee work, promote Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development, communicate with and present to counties in your region and other agreed upon responsibilities.

Communicate regularly with Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council advisors and members.

Conduct yourself, at all times, in a manner that is consistent with Extension and 4-H Youth Development Behavior Expectations.


Majority of Leadership Council expenses are covered by the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation and Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development. Council members are responsible for registration fees for Fall Forum; meals at training events, as well as other supplies such as t-shirts; transportation to workshops and trainings; and apparel costs.  Support for costs may be available from your county leaders’ association or other sources. Cost should not be a barrier for application.

Skills, Expectations, and Eligibility

Demonstrated Skills and Expectations of Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Members:

  • Leadership in 4-H Programs
  • Teamwork and Cooperation
  • Verbal and Written Communication Skills
  • Public Relations Skills
  • Responsibility
  • Positive Role Model
  • Positive Attitude
  • Ability to Work in Unusual or Unexpected Situations (Adaptable and Flexible)
  • Accepting of Differences in Others

Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Eligibility


  1. 4-H youth member in good standing and in 9th through 11th grade at time of election
  2. Support from your county 4-H Youth Development Staff/Educator to serve on a statewide council
  3. Experience working with youth in leadership roles
  4. Willingness to serve on committees and work with adult volunteers
  5. Agree to abide by Youth Behavior Expectations


  1. Enrolled, certified 4-H volunteer leader
  2. Support from your county 4-H Youth Development Staff/Educator to serve on a statewide council
  3. Experience working with youth in leadership roles
  4. Willingness to serve on committees and work with youth leaders
  5. Agree to abide by Volunteer Behavior Expectations

Application And Election Process

2022-23 Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Application and Interviews

The completed Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Application, cover letter, and résumé will open in June 19, 2023 on 4-H Online. Applicants will need to upload their cover letter and résumé to 4-H Online as a PDF. Applications are due no later than 4 pm on October 1, 2023.


Applicants need to allow time for their Staff/Educator and another volunteer leader to provide a recommendation. References must be uploaded to the following google form: https://forms.gle/52e9zdG8PGe6aYEM9 or sent directly to amanda.kadlecek@wisc.edu. References are due no later than 4 pm on October 1, 2023. If your county has 4-H Staff/Educator vacancies, you may have an adult 4-H leader, not related to you, complete the reference.

Application Resources

Below you will find resources to help you complete your application:

How to Access Your WLC Application on 4-H Online

Example Youth Resumes and Cover Letters

Converting Documents Into a PDF

Use the following worksheets to plan application responses:

WLC Application Questions


Current officers and advisors of the WI 4-H Leadership Council will review applications and invite applicants to a Zoom Interview with WLC Members. Candidates will be notified by October 6, 2023 and interviews will be held October 16-20 based off of candidate availability listed in application. The final slate of candidates will be notified by October 27. These dates are tentative and flexibility is needed with this changing process.

WLC Applicant Evaluation Form


The election will be by caucus.  All WI 4-H youth members and leaders attending Fall Forum will have the opportunity to vote for regional representation on Sunday, November 5, 2023 at Fall Forum.  There will be an aggregated point system that will be calculated by county; all votes will be counted towards counties official candidate vote. Candidate Résumés will be shared on the Election Website with Recorded Candidate Introductions and Speeches.

Newly elected Council members will be announced at and will take office immediately.

Application Timeline

  • Application, Resume and Cover Letter Due – October 1, 2023 at 4pm
  • References Due – October 1, 2023
  • Review of Applicants – October 2 – 4, 2023
  • Candidates Notified by October 6, 2023
  • Candidate Interviews with WLC Members – October 16 – 20, 2023
  • Notification of Final Slate of Candidates – October 27, 2023
  • Election – Sunday, November 5, 2023

Current Council Membership

Co-Presidents – Juniper Rydberg and Cindi Syverson
Co-Vice Presidents – Isaac Nagel and Kathy Brubaker
Secretary – Morgan Servaes
WI 4-H Foundation Representatives –  Burke Sprangers and Mary Pat Boschert
Hall of Fame Representatives – Emily Groth, Cindi Syverson, Jamie Damm, and Chris Lettau

East Metro Region:

Heidi Groth (Brown County – Adult)

McKinley Krueger (Fond du Lac County – Youth)

Chris Lettau (Winnebago County – Adult)

Josie Mertens (Calumet County – Youth)

Isaac Nagel (Calumet County – Youth)

Evan Numrich (Winnebago County – Youth)

Kassidy Ruppel (Waupaca County – Youth)

Lisa Sprangers (Outagamie County – Adult)

Northern Region:

Kathy Brubaker (Pierce County – Adult)

Sami Carriere (Jackson County – Youth)

Maggie Conlan (Polk County – Adult)

Susan Holmen (Chippewa County – Youth)

Christine Jensen (Wood County – Adult)

Jarrett Rueth (Clark County – Youth)

Juniper Rydberg (Portage County – Youth)

Cindi Syverson (Eau Claire County – Adult)

Southern Region:

Mary Pat Boschert (Dodge County – Adult)

Grace Carter (Sauk County – Youth)

Jamie Damm (Columbia County – Youth)

Alexa Heitkamp (LaCrosse County – Youth)

Bryndalyn Kanable (Richland County – Youth)

Thomas Peters (Rock County – Youth)

Dawn Smith (Green County – Adult)


Jacob Adamski (Langlade County – Youth)

Lauryn Elzy (Rock County – Youth)

Emily Groth (Brown County – Youth)

Finn Lettau (Winnebago County – Youth)

Nick Luerssen (Marathon County – Adult)

Nikki Rueth (Clark County – Adult)

Morgan Servaes (Kewaunee County – Youth)

Burke Sprangers (Outagamie County – Youth)


Laura Huber, laura.huber@wisc.edu – Wood County 4-H Educator
Carlea Liermann, carlea.liermann@wisc.edu– Calumet County 4-H Educator
Dawn VandeVoort, dawn.vandevoort@wisc.edu – 4-H Volunteer Development Specialist

Wisconsin 4-H Leadership Council Bylaws

This program is supported by the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation.  For more information please go to www.Wis4HFoundation.org.

This page is optimized for printing
Support Extension