Academy delegates pose for a photo in front of a giant image of the earth at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center

Heather Vierling – NASA is always looking for the best and the brightest…people who have “THE RIGHT STUFF”. The 2023 Wisconsin 4-H Advanced Space Academy delegation delivered on this task. This group of dynamic, intelligent, and enthusiastic youth spent a week in Huntsville, Alabama at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center showing us their unique skills, ambitions, and character.

During the week these youth were put to the test. They participated in low ropes / high ropes courses, advanced rocketry building, astronaut training simulators, drone flying, zero gravity training (scuba diving), aviation training, astronomy lessons, STEM challenges, Russian language lessons, and sat through numerous lectures on space history, science concepts, and career exploration. The highlight of the week were the three mission experiences that our delegates participated in. Teams of youth were broken up into Mission Control, the Space Station / Mars Station, and the Shuttle. Youth were assigned a role and oversaw lift off, orbit, EVAs, anomalies, and return to earth. The goal of these one or three our missions was to communicate and work together as a team in order to get the tasks completed and bring everyone home safely.

These thirty-seven 4-H Advanced Space Academy delegates exemplify “The Right Stuff”. Not only do they hold superior leadership skills, but they also show empathy for their fellow 4-Her’s and mankind. These are skills that are taught and grown over time through the 4-H program. This is proof Wisconsin 4-H is developing the best and the brightest for our future.


  • Avana Beeksma, Bayfield
  • McKenna Coy, Bayfield
  • Nicholas Pully, Bayfield
  • Owen King, Chippewa
  • Elliott Gotham, Chippewa
  • Stanley Lang, Chippewa
  • Jarret Rueth, Clark
  • Jamie Damm, Columbia
  • Sam Seguin, Dune
  • Brooke Berg, Eau Claire
  • Sydney Iverson, Eau Claire
  • Benjamin Skutley, Eau Claire
  • Skye Dickson, Green
  • Michael Williams, Green
  • Braedon Klemme, Iron
  • Wiatt LaBo, Iron
  • Analisa Boshart, Jefferson
  • Kevin Hegland, La Crosse
  • Hannah Johnson, La Crosse
  • Evie Tribant McKenna, Langlade
  • Christian Lashua, Lincoln
  • Kiera Leitermann, Outagamie
  • Ella Lornson, Outagamie
  • Chase Nielsen, Outagamie
  • Jacob Stille, Outagamie
  • Rebecca Hoffman, Ozaukee
  • Caroline Fisher, Price
  • John Bateman, Polk
  • Mary Sandberg, Polk
  • Emma Reincke, Portage
  • Emma Najdowski, Rock
  • Chloe Breunig, Sheboygan
  • Ava Buchholz, Washington
  • Evelyn Rusk, Washington
  • Mason Willkomm, Washington
  • Kyle Carpenter, Waukesha
  • Aaron Hoffman, Wood


  • Seth Harrmann, Clark
  • Matt Babcock, Polk
  • Jackie Fisher, Price
  • Mary Big Mountain, Rusk
  • Heather Vierling, State
Support Extension