Congratulations 2021 State 4-H Horse Sportsmanship and All-Around Award Winners!

A sportsmanship award should be one of the proudest awards that is received. In recounts your character, how you treat others, how you handle difficult situations, and how you live the 4-H motto to make the best better. It speaks of a member that thinks of others and makes sure that everyone feels like a space is everyone’s place. The award takes into account more than a moment or a specific time but of how someone lives and breathes sportsmanship as a way of being.

The 2021 State 4-H Horse Sportsmanship were presented at the January 2022 State 4-H Horse meeting. We are so proud to congratulate the 2021 WI State 4-H Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Alyssa Cvikota, La Crosse County
Breanna Schnell, Shawano County
Carson Sedivy, Chippewa County
Elise Whitney, Waushara County
Elora Repman, Barron County
Emma Hamilton, Adams County
Grace Hickman, Marathon County
Jenna Stumph, Washburn County
Kyrie Kons, Waukesha County
McKenna Coy, Bayfield County

Each county in the state can nominate one horse project member from their county to receive this award on a yearly basis. More information about the award nomination and other statewide horse association related information can be found in the State 4-H Horse Association Handbook:

We are also excited to announce the 2021 WI State 4-H All Around Winners that were presented at the January 2022 State 4-H Horse meeting. They include, Senior Grand Champion Jessica Vinger, Iowa County; Senior Reserve Champion Morganne Slaught, Sauk County; Junior All Around Champion Kristina Vinger, Iowa County; and Junior Reserve All Around Champion, June Spurley, Iowa County. The State 4-H All-Around award is different than most because members are awarded points for placing both in state riding events and educational contests. In fact, youth must show in at least two education categories to be eligible for the award. Past years winners have included young people that have been involved solely in educational events and they did not ride in state shows. The members that typically receive this award are involved in a number of statewide horse events and you can clearly see that the horse project is one of their sparks.

Support Extension